Posted by: kimmeroo | March 23, 2013

30 Before 30: Status Update

As I mentioned in my last post, some of the items on my ’30 Before 30′ list are already complete or in progress, so I thought I’d give a quick update as to where things stand.

Run a half marathon
I’ve been trying to slowly increase my mileage, but am getting thwarted by this darn IT band. It’s not mega painful like it was in November, but definitely feeling a bit of a twinge. Still hopeful I can get it under control.

Stretch
This is relative to the IT band issue mentioned above. I’m trying to stretch regularly. Periodically I try to convince myself that I should practice yoga… and then reality hits and I remember that I really don’t like yoga. Plus, I don’t think I need to be able to contort myself in all those impressive yogi-ways to get the benefits I’m really interested in – remaining strong and injury free for the sports and activities I like to do. A regular stretching routine should be adequate for that. I’m definitely incorporating more stretching into my routine, but this can still be improved.

Donate blood - Done! I gave blood about a week and a half ago. It went…sort of well…

blood_donor
Taking pictures of my feet in the donor’s chair before it all started to go downhill

I thought it would be no problem. Easy peasy. After all, needles don’t bother me, and when I gave blood in high school (okay, so a long time ago…) I didn’t have any issues. First thing they do is test your iron to make sure it’s high enough – mine was 152, passed with flying colours. Then they ask a million and ten questions to make sure you’re eligible – yep, no problems there. Then they take your blood pressure. Apparently mine is on ‘the low end of normal’ (which of course is on the whole a good thing, it’s high blood pressure that’s the issue). But, I don’t have any issues with dizziness or anything, so no problem, off to the donor’s chair.

Shortly after I was rigged up and ready to go was the first sign that things wouldn’t go entirely smoothly. I guess my blood wasn’t pumping itself out my body fast enough, so the nurse gave me a stress ball and said to give it a squeeze to get things going. Fine, easy enough. Did that then went back to playing games on my phone. No big deal. Buuuuut then there was some beeping in the background, and the nurse came back “Uhhhh I think you’re going to have to just keep squeezing that stress ball…” So for the next 5 or 6 minutes I had to keep squeezing the stress ball, and not slowly either – it was practically a workout! The bag of blood was supposed to be rocking back and forth, and if I let up for just a split second it would immediately start to slow… and the last thing I wanted was to ‘fail’ at donating blood this far in the process!

I managed to keep it up, and finally I was done. Phew! The nurse came and took the needle out, and still I was fine. But all of a sudden, sitting there while the nurse did her thing with the donation, came the first wave of dizziness… tried to convince myself I was fine, but when I was feeling a strong urge to close my eyes figured I better say something. Immediately I was surrounding by the nursing SWAT team, who flipped the chair back and got cold cloths. I felt better pretty quickly, but they brought me some juice to drink in the chair before I headed over to the post-donation feeding station of cookies and juice. I guess my blood pressure dropped a bit too much after losing that much blood!

Ah well, all’s well that ends well. I successfully donated and didn’t pass out – we’ll call it a win.

Clean up my diet – This is a work in progress, involving lots of reading and soul searching, but I feel like I’m getting closer to defining my ideal path, aligned with my goals and my values. This will be worthy of a post unto itself, but for now, the things I’ve been reading include:

The Thrive Diet: The Whole Food Way To Losing Weight, Reducing Stress, And Staying Healthy For LifeWhole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-dense, Plant-based Recipes For Peak Health It Starts With Food: Discover The Whole30 And Change Your Life In Unexpected Ways

I’ve also been hitting the internet hard – I’ll share some of those sites later.

Garden  – There is still tons of snow on the ground right now, but I was working at our local Seedy Saturday event a couple of weeks ago, and was chatting with one of the girls who helps run the community garden at the university where I work. Sounds like there will be a good opportunity to help out there sometimes over lunch, which would be a good way to learn more about gardening and get some organic veggies without starting from scratch at home (although I might do a bit of container gardening at home too).

Volunteer - Completed, but ongoing. I’m on the committee for the local Relay for Life, a Canadian Cancer Society Fundraiser, and am also on the board for a local environmental organization.

See Niagara Falls – going there for work in April!

Cook and try new recipes regularly – this will be an ongoing goal, but it’s going well so far. One of the recent successes was the raw almond and flax burger from Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Diet book. I dunno about the legalities of sharing recipe details, but here’s a link to someone who had permission to share it!

almond burger photo 300x225

Image Source: NoMeatAthlete

Strength train – still loving crossfit!

See a show in Toronto with my Mom and sister-in-law – Weekend is planned for May, and tickets are booked! We’re going to see “I love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change”

Track monthly spending – need to catch up with some receipts, but on the whole keeping this up.

Join a CSA - In progress! I have paid the first installment for a veggie CSA that will start in the spring. It’s through Valleyfield Farm – you can check them out on their website, and they also have a good video about the farm on their website or on Vimeo.

Well, that’s it for the updates for now. Still lots of time to keep crossing things off the list :)


Responses

  1. I really want to read It Starts with Food after I am done with this semester of grad school. I really want to garden too. I can’t believe I didn’t think of community garden, thanks for that idea!

    • I’m enjoying ISWF and definitely learning some things, but I don’t agree with everything… kinda seems like they gloss over some things, or omit opposing opinions. But definitely worth reading, just with a critical eye (which is true of everything, of course!). I’ll post a report on it when I’m done.

      I’m exciting about the community garden idea. I’m a bit reluctant to make a real garden at my house, because some years I’m away a lot, so this is a great compromise, and convenient to be able to do it on my lunch breaks! You should totally look into what’s available in your area.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

