Posted by: kimmeroo | January 19, 2013

Good Reads

I love reading. In fact, a more accurate name for this blog would probably be the readingrunningpaddler. Or the runningreadingpaddler. Or the paddlingrunningreader. You get the point.  Books are important in our house. However, books also take up space, which we don’t have a whole lot of, so periodically I like to do a big book cull, and get rid of a bunch to make room for more. We do keep a lot of books, but there are a couple of categories that generally don’t make the cut:

1. Books neither of us liked – for obvious reasons, these are sent packing to Value Village

2. Novels that were just okay – these are also donated

3. Novels that I really liked, but generally wouldn’t read again – these are given to friends and family. I would rather have good books getting passed around and read, than sitting on a shelf in my house getting dusty.

We went through our books recently, and some have been sent out the door, but I also have a pile of books to give away. Some are waiting for when I see my Mom later this winter, others will be given to friends at some point.

In the meantime, I thought I’d share some of the good novels I’ve read lately. Document them before they are sent off into the world :). Click on any of the images for more info.

State Of Wonder     The Light Between Oceans: A Novel  Remarkable Creatures   Cutting For Stone  Lone Wolf: A Novel

Also thought I’d mention a few of the books I’m reading right now. The novel I started recently is The Dovekeepers, by Alice Hoffman. I’m not very far into it yet, but it seems quite good so far.

DOVEKEEPERS

I am also starting to read The Big Book of Endurance Training and Racing, by Phil Maffetone. I first read about this book on another blog, and was intrigued. The review I linked to describes it better than I can at this point, as I’m still near the beginning, but so far I like his philosophies and the general approach makes intuitive sense. I just wonder if I could stick to slow, easy runs long enough to see results from his methods, without driving myself nuts because I’m not going ‘hard’ enough. I don’t think I would ever try for cross country skiing – I enjoy just going out and skiing as hard as I feel like skiing too much. Maybe for running though… hmmm.

The Big Book of Endurance Training and Racing

Finally, there are a couple more books that I received recently for my birthday (thanks Mom and Dad!) that I’m looking forward to getting into, but haven’t started yet.

Eat To Live: The Amazing Nutrient-Rich Program for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss, Revised Edition         The Barefoot Running Book: The Art and Science of Barefoot and Minimalist Shoe Running          The Value of Nothing

Hopefully that gives you some ideas if you’re looking for any reading material. Once I have made it through some of the thought provoking health/fitness books I’ll try to post some more detailed thoughts on them.

Happy reading!

Responses

  1. Hey! new to your blog! 🙂
    I loved this – I really want to check out The Value of Nothing!

    • Hi! Glad you liked it :). I haven’t started the Value of Nothing yet, but am looking forward to it. Should have some interesting ideas to think about.


Leave a Reply

Categories

