Posted by: kimmeroo | March 29, 2013

Food for Thought

Geeeez another post on where I’m at with my thoughts on food and nutrition!?

Yep, it is. Don’t need to read it if you’re not interested ;). Actually, I don’t think many people do read this, but anyways… I’m in the midst of learning and processing and reflecting, and writing out my thoughts helps with the process. I thought about revising or deleting my last post, but am keeping it up as an accurate reflection of where I’ve been/where I am going.

That said, it’s been bugging me a bit since I posted it, since upon further reflection it doesn’t really reflect my thinking. A comment on my first review of It Starts with Food inspired me to update my thoughts sooner rather than later. This will be a quick post without any pretty pictures to liven it up, but I’ll try to make it easy to read (and write) with the use of lovely bullet points.

Sooo here is where I am at:

  • I don’t agree with factory farming. For whatever reason I have managed to bury my head in the sand thus far (apart from a brief stint of poorly done vegetarianism in university), but I am reaching the point where I am too morally conflicted to continue eating it. Even if I accept that it’s healthy for me (which I don’t, really), it’s not healthy for the animals (how they’re treated, not just the fact of their death), the planet, or overall human health (e.g., increasing antibiotic resistance). I just can’t support it.
  • I’m still not convinced of the health value of conventional meat. After more time to think about it, one tweet doesn’t provide enough evidence to change my mind on that one. Maybe you can reduce the negatives by buying lean cuts, but there are way too many additives and issues to eliminate all the risk.
  • I’m not sure I buy into the issues with grains and legumes. I mean, I can understand how they have negative impacts on those who are susceptible to them, but I’m not convinced they’re bad for everyone. That said, I do see the value in eliminating them for a period of time and then reintroducing them. I’m not ready to take that on at this point (especially because I also think they do have many benefits, if you’re not sensitive to them), but I recognize that it’s the only way to really understand how they affect each individual.
  • Financial. I hate to bring in the finance piece too much, but it is a consideration. I’m willing to invest more money and not cheap-out when it comes to health and fitness stuff, because I value both highly, but it has to be within reason. I need to recognize the limitations that come with working contract-to-contract, and not having a particularly high salary. There’s no way that grass fed, organic meat can be a staple in my diet.

Okay, so where does that leave things? Well, let’s see:

  • Really limit meat – I’m not ready to label myself as a vegetarian at this point, but I’m focusing on a primarily plant-based diet. Although I’ll continue to include eggs (often) and fish (once in awhile) in my diet, at least for now.
  • I’ll be eating grains and legumes, but thoughtfully. I like Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Diet approach to this one – reducing the processed grains, and focusing on the pseudo-grains like quinoa and amaranth, along with some rice. If I get ambitious I’ll try some soaking and sprouting.
  • Dairy – I don’t have much dairy as is. I prefer almond milk and soy milk to cow’s milk. For the time being I’ll continue eating some greek yogurt, and minimal cheese but I’m not officially cutting it out.
  • Instead of using my hard-earned cash to buy good quality meats, I can use it towards other quality food like organic eggs and veggies (already signed up for a veggie CSA this year).

Phew, there you have it. A semi-defined plan that is more-or-less aligned with my health and fitness goals, and my ethics.

Leave a Reply

Categories

