Posted by: kimmeroo | March 30, 2013

Real Hounds

We’re housesitting for some friends who are meandering around Europe right now. And when I say ‘house’ sitting, what I really mean is ‘house-dog-horse-fish’ sitting. Oh, and we have our dog with us too. It’s a real menagerie! Fortunately the location is ideal for tiring out energetic hounds – we can put on our skis and head into the back 40 and there’s plenty of terrain to be touring for a few hours. It’s marvelous. There’s also a cross country ski area nearby that has closed for the season, but there is still plenty of snow – i.e., it’s a free for all, dogs included! We took advantage yesterday, and skied for about 3h on the trails.

This morning started off with some puppy snuggles. Jack likes to think he’s a lap dog (and we encourage it, because he’s just so gosh darn cute).

J1

And this is Heikki, aka H-Bomb, aka Hank Snow. He’s pretty cute too. He is also solid muscle, and can run 60km/hour. Don’t mess with the H-Bomb. Although, really, the most dangerous thing about him is when his whip-like tail is wagging!

H1

No pictures from the various skis and snowshoes, but I think these pictures are evidence enough that we have successfully been tiring them out!

H2

J2

HJ

I think the 40 year old horse (yes, 40, maybe even a bit older) deserves a post of his own, so I’ll save that for another day.

Hope everyone is enjoying their Easter weekend!

Responses

  1. Cute doggies! My dog is currently living with my husband and I miss her so much (I miss him more, don’t worry!).

    • Aw that sucks! My husband is away a lot, but at least I usually have the dog at home with me – no fun to miss them both at once 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

