Posted by: kimmeroo | May 9, 2013

What I Ate Wednesday

WIAWbutton

‘What I Ate Wednesday’ is a blog trend hosted by Peas and Crayons. It’s a bit of a voyeuristic game where bloggers photograph a day of eats, and then share it on their blog on Wednesday. It’s a fun way to get new meal and snack ideas. I’m jumping in for this first time today, although I guess I’m not technically playing ‘by the rules.’ Like I said, the original idea is to photograph one full day of meals and snacks. I’m clearly not that organized, but I do have an assortment of photos from over the past week or two.

See, I’m actually partaking in a vegan challenge right now. In fact, it’s vegan and then some. Basically it excludes animal products (clearly), sweeteners, gluten, and any processed foods. I won’t be able to stay so restrictive long-term, but it’s been a great learning experience thus far, and a good push to try some new things.

So my inaugural WIAW post is showcasing some of the new and delicious things I have been trying (and some of the boring ol’ standbys too). Without further ado:

snacks

These are some of the whole food snacks I have been munching on. Some classics are almonds, pears (and other fruit), and carrots (and other veg). The weird looking things in the top right hand are curry lentil crackers. The recipe is from Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Diet book. Super yummy! I’ll be making a double (or triple) batch next time for sure. Bottom right is dates topped with natural peanut butter. A delicious combination that I have been eating perhaps a bit too often!

meals

And here are some of the actual meals I have been eating. Let’s start clockwise from the top left. Because that just seems to be how things are done. First pic is pretty simple – wheat free quick oats topped with banana and PB (and often with homemade almond milk, although apparently not this time). Second pic is sweet potato hash with chickpeas and tofu. This was amazingly delicious. In fact, I’m planning it for supper again tomorrow. Bottom right is an avocado sauce. The original recipe tossed this sauce with pasta. I tossed it with spaghetti squash the night this was taken, and actually had it again tonight on vegetable pasta. Really quick, and really tasty. Bottom centre is a nut ‘burger (nuts, seeds, coconut oil, and spices) on a bed of greens. This is also from the Thrive Diet book. Lastly is portobello mushroom pizzas with cashew ‘cheese’ sauce. These would be really good if you’re a big fan of mushrooms… Unfortunately I found the thick portobello base too overwhelmingly mushroomy. Oh well. The cashew sauce was fantastic though.

And that brings us to the end of the RunningPaddler’s WIAW, Episode 1!

Leave a Reply

Categories

